Site Overlay

A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder Book Recommendation

A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder by Holly Jackson

I haven’t shared a book recommendation in a while because I simply hadn’t found one that was super crazy good. Until now. My niece offered this book recommendation – A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder – and I am so glad she did. I actually read the whole 387 pages in one sitting. It’s hard to put down. My favorite kind of book.

** This post contains affiliate links and I will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on my links.**

Looking for a book you can't put down? This book recommendation for A Good Girl's Guide To Murder is suspense at its best. You have to read it!

Curious? I hope so! Let me tell you all about it.

Meet The Characters of A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder

Pippa: Super smart overachiever Pippa takes the lead. She’s witty, intelligent, courageous (often to a fault), and determined to solve a mystery the rest of her town denies.

Ravi: His brother Sal has been accused of murdering his girlfriend, Andie, and then committing suicide. His entire remaining family has been vilified ever since. In life, his brother Sal was a friend to everyone. Since his death, he has become the town’s favorite monster.

Cara: Pippa’s best friend and soul sister is the friend we all wish we could call our own. Her and her sister Naomi are both like sisters to Pippa.

Andie Bell: The town has accepted that this beautiful young girl was brutally murdered by Sal Singh, but her body has never been recovered. Was this golden girl murdered? And how golden was she?

A Good Girls Guide To Murder Book Recommendation

What I Liked About A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder

I thought the pacing of the story was really well done. Gripping! Like I was actually gripping the book and couldn’t let go because I knew I had it figured out, or did I?

The characters were easy to like or hate and the suspense felt real. Pippa’s love for her family is deep. And the friendships she has are lighthearted and fun and also heavy and delicate – just like in reality.

The story is told in part through her logbook. As a fan of true crime tv, I liked this angle. It was a cool way to tie pieces together.

Finally, I actually cried real tears for a character. Real tears.

From The Jacket of A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder

For readers of Kara Thomas and Karen McManus, an addictive, twisty crime thriller with shades of Serial and Making a Murderer about a closed local murder case that doesn’t add up, and a girl who’s determined to find the real killer–but not everyone wants her meddling in the past.

Everyone in Fairview knows the story.

Pretty and popular high school senior Andie Bell was murdered by her boyfriend, Sal Singh, who then killed himself. It was all anyone could talk about. And five years later, Pip sees how the tragedy still haunts her town.

But she can’t shake the feeling that there was more to what happened that day. She knew Sal when she was a child, and he was always so kind to her. How could he possibly have been a killer?

Now a senior herself, Pip decides to reexamine the closed case for her final project, at first just to cast doubt on the original investigation. But soon she discovers a trail of dark secrets that might actually prove Sal innocent . . . and the line between past and present begins to blur. Someone in Fairview doesn’t want Pip digging around for answers, and now her own life might be in danger.

This is the story of an investigation turned obsession, full of twists and turns and with an ending you’ll never expect.

About The Author – Holly Jackson

Holly Jackson started writing stories from a young age, completing her first (poor) attempt at a novel aged fifteen. She graduated from the University of Nottingham with an MA in English, where she studied literary linguistics and creative writing. She lives in London and aside from reading and writing, she enjoys playing video games and watching true crime documentaries so she can pretend to be a detective.
‘A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder’ is her first novel. You can follow Holly on Twitter and Instagram @HoJay92

Also – there is a sequel – Good Girl, Bad Blood! I can’t wait to read it!

Other Books You Will Like If You Like Suspense

Thanks for visiting Geez, Gwen today! We are so glad you found us! We are not believers in coincidence so we are confident you are here for a reason! Perhaps we can offer you tasty recipes? Maybe our inspirational quotes are just what you need in your life! Perhaps you’ve been wondering where to take that family vacation? Maybe you want to know the truth about what us homeschoolers really do all day! Maybe you love photography and see it as an art, just like me! Whatever it is, it’s clearly Destiny at its finest! Don’t let this opening door of opportunity slam shut! Run through by subscribing to our newsletter.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Some posts on this blog contain affiliate links. I receive a small commission whenever a product is purchased through these links. Occasionally I receive products in exchange for a review or giveaway post. The owner of this website, is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking http://geezgwen.com to Amazon properties including, but not limited to, amazon.com, endless.com, myhabit.com, smallparts.com, or amazonwireless.com. However, all opinions expressed on Geez Gwen are solely my own, and I only suggest products or services that I believe will be helpful to my readers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

Copyright © 2020 Geez, Gwen! All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy